Gratitude for the Moments

Standard

About six years ago my sister-in-law gave me a gratitude journal.  The idea behind it was to write five things that I was thankful for each day. Most days it was easy to come up with five things I was thankful for, though some days it was harder.  But on the difficult days, writing five things helped me feel happier about life.

 I remember one day in particular. Two years ago I was overwhelmed by school, my husband could hardly walk because of a herniated disc in his back and we had plumbing problems.  The only things I could think of to list in my gratitude journal were:

      *My husband was able to walk to a neighbor’s home four houses from ours

      *I learned how to fix a drain

      *Dillon made me laugh

      *the flowers in my flower beds are pretty

      *my friends are wonderful

 After writing those things I felt like I had been blessed that day and could see the happy moments in my everyday trials.

 A study entitled Counting Blessings Versus Burdens was conducted by two university psychologists. They found that when people highlight the good in their lives they have an increased sense of well-being and happiness (Emmons & McCullough, 2003).  I am a firm believer that focusing on the good each day helps me find the happy moments in life.  Life can be stressful and it can get me down at times.  When I am overwhelmed by homework and the demands of life, stopping to count my blessings brings me instant joy.

 I think I feel happier because I am reflecting on the positive moments in my day like a beautiful sunset, laughing with my children and husband, or spending time with a friend. Focusing on things I am thankful for gives me a happiness boost and helps me relive the happy moments of my day.

 So, if you want to find the happy moments in life, try keeping a gratitude journal.

Leave a Reply

